Lok Sabha Elections: Anurag Thakur Gets Ticket For The 5th Time At The Age Of 49, Keeping An Eye On Rajput Votes


BJP has been in possession of Hamirpur parliamentary seat since 1998. Before this, Anurag Thakur father, former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal, had been MP from this seat thrice.

Union Minister Anurag Thakur. - Photo: diary times

Union Minister Anurag Thakur. - Photo: diary times

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Join Now

Reported & Written By Kumud Sharma, Diary Times, Hamirpur, March 14: Union Minister Anurag Thakur will contest the fifth Lok Sabha election at the age of 49 on BJP ticket. The high command has expressed confidence in him for the fifth consecutive time. Hamirpur parliamentary seat has been held by BJP since 1998. Before this, his father former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal had been MP from this seat thrice. Hamirpur seat is Rajput dominated. Barring Congress OBC leader Narayan Chand Parashar, till now only Rajput leaders have been MPs on this seat. In this area of 14 lakh voters, 5.25 lakh voters are Rajputs while around 3 lakh are Brahmin voters. SC voters are more than three lakh while OBC voters are also around two and a quarter lakh.

Get The Latest News Of Himachal First On Mobile, Click Here To Join Our WhatsApp Group

Till now, Rajput leaders have contested elections from Hamirpur parliamentary seat on BJP ticket. Once again BJP has tried to solve the caste equation. The important reason for Anurag Thakur getting the ticket for the fifth time is considered to be his performance in the Modi government and many new schemes started in the parliamentary constituency. He was expected to get the responsibility when the Modi government came to power in the year 2019. He got the responsibility but did not get any full ministry but was given the responsibility of Union Minister of State for Finance. Due to his good work on this post, he was given important ministries like Information Broadcasting, Sports and Youth Services in the expansion of Modi cabinet.

Contested first election in 2008, still invincible

Anurag Thakur was born on 24 October 1974 in village Sameerpur of Hamirpur to former Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal and Sheela Dhumal. He completed his schooling from Dayanand Model School, Jalandhar and BA from Doaba College, Jalandhar. Anurag tied the knot with Shafali Thakur, daughter of former Public Works Minister Thakur Gulab Singh, in 2002. Now at the age of 49, Anurag Thakur will contest the fifth election. He is still invincible in electoral politics. In the year 2008, he contested his first by-election. After winning the by-election, he has won three consecutive general elections.

We’re now on WhatsApp –Click to join

He will be elected for the fifth consecutive time on BJP ticket from Hamirpur parliamentary seat. Two important ministries were handed over in the current Modi government. He has also been the National President of BJYM. Anurag Thakur has been the president of BCCI, the world’s richest cricket control board, for two years.

Thanks to the high command for showing confidence

I express my heartfelt gratitude to the top leadership of the party for reposing confidence in me for the fifth time from my own Hamirpur parliamentary constituency and for once again making me the Lok Sabha candidate of the world’s largest political party, the Bharatiya Janata Party. I am grateful to Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah, National President Jagat Prakash Nadda and the leadership of the Center and the state. We assure that under the leadership of the Prime Minister, we will go among the people about the achievements of the Central Government and the nationalist policies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. By winning all the 4 seats of Himachal, we will ensure the contribution of Devbhoomi in the resolution of crossing 400.

Anurag Thakur, candidate parliamentary constituency Hamirpur

Anurag got recognition in national politics through Tiranga Yatra

Although Anurag Thakur reached the Lok Sabha by becoming an MP at the age of 32, but he got recognition in national politics in 2011 through the Rashtriya Ekta Yatra of the National President of BJYM. As President of the State Cricket Association, he emerged as a seasoned political leader from the politics surrounding the Dharamshala Cricket Stadium. In 2011, his leadership of the Tiranga Yatra from Kolkata to Srinagar Lal Chowk gave him a distinct identity in national politics. As MP of Anurag Thakur, efforts have been made to connect people with new schemes but the promise of Hamirpur-Una railway line, which has become an issue in many elections, is still unfulfilled. Apart from this, the matter of railway expansion in Himachal has not progressed beyond the budget. Some new trains have definitely been started but work has not been done as per the promises.

There are around 14 lakh voters in Hamirpur seat, 5.25 lakh Rajput voters.

Many initiatives have been taken in the parliamentary constituency including Ek Se Shrestha, Khel Mahakumbh, Sansad Swasthya Mobile Yojana. Vice President of India Jagdeep Dhankhar, during his visit to Hamirpur, had praised these schemes and asked other MPs to adopt them. Implementation of new schemes in the area during his four tenures as MP and discharging every responsibility well in the party is being considered as the reason for getting the ticket.

Read More: Hamirpur News: DC Inaugurated Baba Balak Nath Fair With Puja, Havan And Flag Ceremony.

Kumud Sharma


Kumud Sharma is the First Well-Known Female Journalist of the Journalism World of Himachal Pradesh. I am the Founder, Editor in Chief, Managing Director, Promoter of DiaryTimes. As a Female Journalist, With My Experience of More Than Nine Years, I Tell You Every News of Himachal Pradesh From The Ground Level With Absolutely Accurate and Correct Information, Be it the Politics of Himachal Pradesh or the Ground Reality, My Perspective On Every News Will Give You Assurance. I Assure You That Every News of Mine Will Comply With the Expertise and Fact Checking Policy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Google News Titles