All Bravery Awards For Children In President Bhawan in 2023 ?

  • WINNERS OF 2023
WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Join Now

Every year on Republic Day, the National Bravery Award is given to children from all over the country. The award is for children below 18 years of age. The award is given to children for “meritorious acts of bravery against all odds”. A maximum of 25 children are selected every year for this award. This award is presented by the Government of India and the Indian Council of Child Welfare (ICCW). The awardees are announced on 14th November and the children are awarded on the following Republic Day (26th January) by the Prime Minister of India. The awardees all take part in the Republic Day Parade. The reception is hosted by the President of India in the honor of these children.


The inspiration for this award was obtained from an incident on Gandhi Jayanti, 2nd October 1957. On this day the Former Prime Minister of India, Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru was attending a ceremony at the Ramlila ground, Red Fort, Delhi. The decorated tent caught fire during the ceremony due to a short circuit in an electric wire. A young boy scout, named Harish Chandra,14 years old, ripped off the tent with a knife and helped to save more than a hundred people, who were trapped in it. This incident the act of bravery by a young kid inspired the Former Prime Minister to establish an award in the honor of brave children all over the country. 

The first official National Bravery Award was presented to Harish Chandra and one more kid on 4th February 1958, by the Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru, and the Indian Council of Child Welfare. 

A book named “Brave Hearts”, featuring all the National Bravery Award Winners of 1999, was published by Scholastic in 2001.


They are of five categories. 

  1. The Bharat Award
  2. The Geeta Chopra Award
  3. The Sanjay Chopra Award
  4. The Bapu Gaidhani Award
  5. The General National Bravery Award. 

The Sanjay Chopra and Geeta Chopra Awards were established in 1978, in memory of two Chopra children, who lost their lives confronting their kidnappers. The former is presented to a boy and the latter to a girl. 

The Bapu Gaidhani Award was established in 1980.

The Bharat Award was established in 1987.


The selection of the awardees is done by the committee member of the Indian Council of Child Welfare members. For the selection, various applications are received by the committee from the entire country. These applications are provided by official agencies like school authorities, local and district government authorities, and the council of child welfare. The applications should be received before 3oth September for selection. The committee of the Indian Council of Child Welfare (ICCW) consists of government and non-government members such as Secretariats of the President, the Vice President, the Central Social Welfare Board, Indian Police, All India Radio, the National Bal Bhavan and SOS Children’s Village of India. 


  1. Anushka Jolly (Dilili)
  2. Aditya Surya (Kerala)
  3. M . Gauravi Randi(cognizable)
  4. Sambhav Mishra (Odisha)
  5. Shreya Bhattacharya (Assam)
  6. Rohan Ramchandra Bahir (Maharashtra)
  7. Aditya Pratap Singh Chauhan (Chhattisgarh)
  8. Rishi Shiva Prasanna (Karnataka)
  9. Shauryajit Ranjitkumar Khaire (Gujarat)
  10. K Meenakshi (State)
  11. Hanaya Nisar (Jammu and Kashmir)

Kumud Sharma

Kumud Sharma is the First Well-Known Female Journalist of the Journalism World of Himachal Pradesh. I am the Founder, Editor in Chief, Managing Director, Promoter of Diary Times. As a Female Journalist, With My Experience of More Than Nine Years, I Tell You Every News of Himachal Pradesh From The Ground Level With Absolutely Accurate and Correct Information, Be it the Politics of Himachal Pradesh or the Ground Reality, My Perspective On Every News Will Give You Assurance. I Assure You That Every News of Mine Will Comply With the Expertise and Fact Checking Policy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *