Padma Shrri Awards, All Details of 2023 awards ?

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Join Now

Table of Contents

  1. The awarding structure of the Government of India?
  2. The Padma Shri awards.
  3. 2023 Padma Shri awardees.
  1. The awarding structure of the Government of India?
  2. The Government of India primarily classifies its citizens and government servants into two main categories, namely civilian awards that are bestowed upon civilians and to a limited extent, civil servants, and The Gallantry awards which are awarded to military personnel.
  3. The Padma awards are announced each year on the 26th Of January, on the occasion of Republic day and are given during an official ceremony In the Rashtrapati Bhavan, in New Delhi.
  • The Government of India has established four distinct categories of awards to be bestowed upon its citizens, namely:-
  • Bharat Ratna- The highest civilian award, Bharat Ratna, is bestowed individuals who have made exceptional contributions in the fields of art, literature and science, and in recognition of outstanding public service of the highest order. (It is important to note that government servants are not eligible for this award.)
  • Padma Vibhushan- The award is granted to those who have rendered exceptional and distinguished service in any field, including service provided by government servants.
  • Padma Bhushan- The award is bestowed upon individuals who have demonstrated distinguished service of a high calibre in any field, including service rendered by government servants.
  • Padma Shri- This is the fourth-highest civilian award in India and is awarded for distinguished service in any field, including service rendered by Government servants.
  • The Padma Shri awards.
  • The Padma Shri awards were established in 1954 to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation in any field, and are given to Indian citizens. The award is given in various fields such as art, literature and education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, trade and industry, public affairs, civil service, etc.
  • The selection process for the Padma Shri awards begins with the government departments and agencies, as well as state governments, sending nominations for individuals who have made significant contributions in their field. These nominations are then reviewed by the Padma Awards Committee, which is headed by the Prime Minister and comprises of a group of distinguished individuals from various fields.
  • Civilians who are awarded Padma Shri are not eligible for any other civilian awards, except Padma Vibhushan and Padma Bhushan.
  • The first Indian to be awarded the Padma Shri was Dr Bidhan Chandra Roy, a renowned physician and the second Chief Minister of West Bengal. He was awarded the Padma Shri in the field of Medicine in 1954, the first year of the award’s inception.
  • So far 3438 people have been awarded the Padma awards with 106 awarded this year.
  • 2023 Padma Shri AwardeesIn 2023, 106 Padma Awards were approved for conferment by the President, including 3 cases where the award was given to two individuals. The awards were distributed as follows: 6 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan, and 91 Padma Shri. Of the awardees, 19 were women, 2 were foreigners/non-resident Indians/persons of Indian origin/overseas citizens of India, and 7 were posthumous recipients.
  • Maharashtra had the most number of Padma Shri award recipients this year, with 7 out of a total of 12 awards. UP, Karnataka, and Gujarat followed with 8 awards each.
  • The famous Bollywood star Ms Raveena Ravi Tandon was amongst the famous personalities who were being awarded the Padma Shri ‘2023.


(Frequently Asked Questions)

  1. What time of the year is the Padma Shri award being given?
  2. Padma Shri is an award given by the Government of India. The award is given in various categories such as arts, literature, education, sports, medicine, social work, science and engineering, public affairs, civil service, trade and industry. The awards are usually announced on the occasion of the Republic Day of India on January 26th of every year. The award is given by the President of India at a ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the official residence of the President.
  • What are the Padma Shri awards?
  • The Padma Shri is the fourth-highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna, the Padma Vibhushan and the Padma Bhushan. It is awarded by the President of India and is announced every year on India’s Republic Day.
  • How are Padma Shri awardees selected?
  • The selection process for the Padma Shri award is a multi-tier one. Nominations are received from State Governments/Union Territory Administration, Central Ministries/Departments, Institutions of Excellence, etc. These nominations are then screened by a committee, and the final list of awardees is approved by the President of India.
  • What is the significance of the Padma Shri award?
  • The Padma Shri is one of the highest civilian awards in India, and being a recipient is considered a great honour. It is a recognition of an individual’s outstanding contributions to their field and is a way for the Government of India to acknowledge and honour the achievements of its citizens.
  • What are the benefits of receiving the Padma Shri award?
  • Recipients of the Padma Shri award receive a certificate and a medallion. They may also receive certain privileges, such as being able to use the title “Padma Shri” before their name and being eligible for honours and positions in the government.

Kumud Sharma

Kumud Sharma is the First Well-Known Female Journalist of the Journalism World of Himachal Pradesh. I am the Founder, Editor in Chief, Managing Director, Promoter of Diary Times. As a Female Journalist, With My Experience of More Than Nine Years, I Tell You Every News of Himachal Pradesh From The Ground Level With Absolutely Accurate and Correct Information, Be it the Politics of Himachal Pradesh or the Ground Reality, My Perspective On Every News Will Give You Assurance. I Assure You That Every News of Mine Will Comply With the Expertise and Fact Checking Policy.