WPL 2024 Final: Amazing Performance of RCB… Crushed Delhi Capitals in their own home, won the WPL title in style


WPL 2024 Final: The final match of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 season was played between Delhi Capitals (DC) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) on Sunday. In this title match played at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi, RCB under the captaincy of Smriti Mandhana won and won the title.

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Smriti Mandhana. (BCCI)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) captain Smriti Mandhana. (BCCI)

WhatsApp Channel Join Now
Telegram Group Join Now
Instagram Join Now

Reported & Written By Kumud Sharma, Diary Times, New Delhi, March 17:  WPL 2024 Final: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), captained by Smriti Mandhana, has won the Women’s Premier League (WPL) 2024 title with a stellar performance. The final match of the tournament was played on Sunday (17 March) at Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. In this match, RCB won the title by defeating Delhi Capitals (DC) by 8 wickets.

In the match, RCB had a target of 114 runs, which the team achieved in just 19.3 overs after losing 2 wickets. For the team, Ellyse Perry scored 35 not out, Sophie Devine scored 32 runs and Smriti Mandhana scored 31 runs. While Shikha Pandey and Meenu Mani took 1-1 wicket.

In this final, after winning the toss, Delhi Capitals decided to bat first. After this the entire team was limited to 113 runs in 18.3 overs. For Delhi, Shefali Verma played an inning of 44 runs in 27 balls. While captain Meg Lanning scored 23 runs. For RCB, Shreyanka Patil took 4 wickets and Sophie Molyneux took 3 wickets.

This is how Delhi faltered after a promising start –

Delhi Capitals had a good start in the match. The team had scored 64 runs in 7 overs without losing any wicket. But from here spinner Sophie Molineux wreaked havoc and made RCB’s comeback by taking 3 wickets in the first 4 balls. Shefali (44) was caught out on the boundary. After this, Jemimah Rodriguez and Alice Capsey were out without opening the account. Sophie clean bowled both of them.

We’re now on WhatsApp –Click to join

The fourth blow came on the score of 74. Shreyanka Patil gave out LBW to captain Meg Lanning (23). After this, Asha made Marijane Cape (8) and Jess Jonassen (3) victims in the same over. After these continuous shocks, the Delhi team could not recover and collapsed at 113 runs.

RCB won its first title

The RCB team captained by Smriti Mandhana had entered the final for the first time, hence it has also won its first title. Let us tell you that the Delhi team had made it directly to the finals by being on top in the points table. Whereas in the eliminator match, RCB had given a crushing defeat to the defending champion Mumbai. Only after this RCB entered the final.

If we look at the records on this ground, the Delhi team had the home advantage till the finals. He won 3 out of 4 matches. Whereas RCB got success only in 2 out of 4 matches.

Get The Latest News Of Sports First On Mobile, Click Here To Join Our WhatsApp Group

This season, Delhi team had won 6 out of 8 matches on this ground till the final, while RCB had won 4 out of 8 matches. This was the third clash between the two teams this season. Earlier both the matches took place during the league stage. Delhi had won both the times. But RCB has won in the final.

This is the playing-11 of both the teams

Delhi Capitals: Meg Lanning (captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodriguez, Alice Capsey, Marizanne Cape, Jess Jonassen, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Tania Bhatia (wicketkeeper), Shikha Pandey and Meenu Mani.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Smriti Mandhana (captain), Sophie Devine, Sophie Molyneux, Ellyse Perry, Richa Ghosh (wicketkeeper), Georgia Wareham, Meghna, Shreyanka Patil, Asha Shobhana, Shraddha Pokharkar and Renuka Singh Thakur.

Read More: Ind vs Eng: Dharamshala will host the 25th International Match, Indian Cricket Team will Enter with the intention of Winning

Kumud Sharma

Kumud Sharma is the First Well-Known Female Journalist of the Journalism World of Himachal Pradesh. I am the Founder, Editor in Chief, Managing Director, Promoter of Diary Times. As a Female Journalist, With My Experience of More Than Nine Years, I Tell You Every News of Himachal Pradesh From The Ground Level With Absolutely Accurate and Correct Information, Be it the Politics of Himachal Pradesh or the Ground Reality, My Perspective On Every News Will Give You Assurance. I Assure You That Every News of Mine Will Comply With the Expertise and Fact Checking Policy.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Google News Titles